More ways to be inspired and keep motivated!  

This page will always be a work in progress.  As I find new resources I will add them so check back every so often to see what’s new!

Food & Nutrition

Books

Cookbooks

These are books in my own library.  I endorse them because I like them and receive nothing in return.

Websites

  • allrecipes.com – If you have an ingredient and you don’t know what to do with it, this is a great place to be inspired!  Many recipes are user submitted and have great comments on ways to tweak them.  Bonus – nutritional information is listed on some recipes.
  • BMI Calculator – National Heart Lung and Blood Institute & US Department of Health and Human Services
  • seriouseats.com  how to beat egg whites for meringues and souffles – This is a great basic skill that took me seven attempts to get right!
  • Spark Recipes, Recipe Calculator – Allows a user to calculate the nutritional information per serving of any recipe. Anyone can use it but registered users have more options on the site.  This is where the nutritional information published on Our Lady of Second Helpings is generated.

Films

Links go to The Internet Movie Database (IMDB)

Blog Roll

Skinny Taste  – www.skinnytaste.com

Simply Recipes – www.simplyrecipes.com

Gluten Free Girl – www.glutenfreegirl.com

The Shiksa in the Kitchen – www.theshiksa.com

Healthy Aperture – www.healthyaperture.com

More Local Bloggers Cooking up Wholesome Foods

Blue Kale Road – www.bluekaleroad.com

Emmy Cooks – www.emmycooks.com

PepperLynn – www.pepperlynn.com

Savory Sweet Life – www.savorysweetlife.com

The Family Feed – www.thefamilyfeed.com

Modern Alternative Kitchen – www.modernalternativekitchen.com

The Rowdy Chowgirl – www.rowdychowgirl.com

Nutritious Eats – www.nutritiouseats.com

Snacking in the Kitchen – www.snackinginthekitchen.com

Wholesome Home Tips and Recipes

Lightly Crunchy – lightlycrunchy.wordpress.com

Food Politics

Karen le Billion – www.karenlebillon.com

Fed up with Lunch – www.fedupwithlunch.com

The Conscious Consumer

Food and Fitness

One Fit Foodie – www.onefitfoodie.com

Nourished Fitness – www.nourishedfitness.com

Food, Fitness, Vegan

Oh She Glows – www.ohsheglows.com

Sheryl Yvette – www.sherylyvette.com

Return to HOME

Creative Commons License
Our Lady of Second Helpings by Rose McAvoy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.